Minnesota State College Southeast
Basic Rider Training - # CTDE2670 000087 –
Description:
This Basic Rider Course offers the most complete motorcycle training available. Students must complete 14.5 hours of integrated instruction: 4.5 hours in the classroom and 10 hours of practice on a training motorcycle.

This course is divided into two phases: Level I concentrates on motorcycle familiarization, clutch control, throttle control, riding posture, and the four basic skills: straight-line riding, turning, smooth shifting, and stopping quickly.

 Level II includes limited-space maneuvers, counter-steering, cornering, and swerving. While no previous motorcycle riding experience is required, it can be beneficial. Students must be able to ride a bicycle and must possess a valid driver's license or motor vehicle instruction permit.

100% attendance is necessary for certification. 
  • Under Age 18: Minnesota law requires anyone under age 18 to pass an approved rider training course. Must have drivers instructional permit or drivers license in order to take this Basic Rider Course. Upon completion of course, you will receive 2 cards to take to exam station to take written motorcycle permit test and skills portion thereafter. 
  • Age 18 years or older: Minnesota residents must have written motorcycle permit before coming to class. Upon completing class and skills test, you'll receive endorsement to take to exam center.
  • Wisconsin residents do not need motorcycle permit before attending class.
Bring to Class:
Each student must furnish his or her own protective clothing and DOT-approved helmet. Motorcycles are provided
Clothing includes: 
Eye protection, long pants and sleeves, full fingered gloves, and shoes or boots that cover your ankles. 

You will not be allowed to ride if you do not have these items. 



Transfer Policy - There will be a $20 non-refundable transfer fee charged each time a student requests to be transferred into a different course date. This fee will be on the students statement. 

Refund Policy - You or your employer must drop your course registration online three working days prior to the class start date to receive a full refund. you will receive a full refund if Minnesota State College Southeast cancels your class. If you fail to appear or have the correct documents, you or your company will be responsible for full payment regardless. 

Cancellation Policy - While we regret having to do so, it is sometimes necessary to cancel classes with insufficient enrollment. If your class is canceled, we will notify you and a refund will be processed. Please included your permanent cell and work numbers as well as an e-mail address with your registration information when registering for the classes. 

Confirmation - A confirmation will be sent when you register with more information about what you need for the class. Please mark your calendars with the class date so you don't forget! 
Age Req:
15+
Day(s):
Su, Sa 
Time:
8:00 AM
Sessions:
2
Contact Hours:
14.5
Cost:
$180.00
Instructor:
Cole Warner
Registration Cutoff Date:
Beginning Date:
08/05/2017   8:00AM - 4:30PM Transportation Center - Range - Truck Driving Range ( See Map )
08/06/2017   8:00AM - 4:30PM Transportation Center - Range - Truck Driving Range ( See Map )