Minnesota State Medication Aide Training-June Start Hybrid-Rochester
#: AH    ID: 9178    Section: 060523

What is Minnesota State Medication Aide Training? 

Minnesota State provides the required training to work as a Medication Aide in a skilled nursing facility. Students will develop an understanding of drug administration with this comprehensive training program. Available in two formats, classroom and hybrid, the Minnesota State curriculum offers consistency and customized training options to meet any needs. A wide variety of exercises and activities let students apply their knowledge to healthcare settings. The class includes a new textbook specifically designed for the medication aide. The training and supplemental resources will also prepare participants for written and skills exams by building knowledge and developing skills competency. This course requires a minimum of forty-eight hours of instruction.

What are the highlights of this training?

  • Consistent curriculum and textbook throughout all Minnesota State ensures consistent training for all employees across Minnesota
  • Textbook is geared specifically for the role of a medication aide and offered at an affordable price for students and facilities
  • Flexible training options, including in-person and hybrid, to meet the scheduling needs of students and facilities. Cost of the training is reimbursable to nursing facilities participating in the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) Nursing Facility Employee Scholarship Program

What pre-requisites are there for students?

It is recommended that a person works as a certified nursing assistant for six months before taking this course and be at least 18 years of age. Minnesota law governs the qualifications required to work as a medication aide in a licensed nursing home.
To work as a Medication Aide in a skilled nursing facility, students must have completed a nursing assistant training program approved by the Minnesota Department of Health before enrollment in a trained medication aide program. These employees are not required to take the nursing assistant exam, nor to have ever been on the nursing assistant registry.
A person who challenges the Minnesota nursing assistant exam or transfers in from another state, for example, would not be eligible. It is the responsibility of the facility to document completion of an approved nursing assistant training program.

Students will apply classroom learning in the laboratory setting promoting safe medication administration.

To successfully complete the course, students must: 
  • achieve a cumulative score of 75% or higher on chapter quizzes and final knowledge exam;  
  • demonstrate competency of skills by passing the final skills exam; and 
  • meet the class attendance requirements with a minimum of 48 hours.
Minnesota law governs the qualifications required to work as a medication aide in a licensed nursing home. If you question your eligibility, please visit this website for more information.

It is recommended that you work as a certified nursing assistant six months before taking this course and be at least 18 years of age.  

Course fee includes online materials and required textbook.
Bring to Class:

Students should expect to complete a minimum of 10 hours of online as indicated on the course schedule each week. This includes online self-paced work and a required 2-hour Zoom session per week. Zoom sessions are offered weekly on Sunday mornings and Monday evenings.

Orientation Session: June 5, 2023
Required In-Person Session: Mon 6/5, 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Students should bring the laptop, tablet, or other device they plan on using for the online portion of the course to ensure it meets minimum requirements.

WEEK 1 - June 6 - 12, 2023
Required Zoom Session: Sun 6/11, 10:00am-12:00pm OR Mon 6/12, 6:30-8:30pm

WEEK 2 - June 13 - 19, 2023
Required Zoom Session: Sun 6/18, 10:00am-12:00pm OR Mon 6/19, 6:30-8:30pm

WEEK 3 - June 20 - 26, 2023
Required Zoom Session: Sun 6/25, 10:00am-12:00pm OR Mon 6/26, 6:30-8:30pm

WEEK 4 - June 27 – July 4, 2023
No Zoom 

Required In-Person Skills Sessions (must attend BOTH sessions):
Thur 6/29 AND Fri 6/30, 2:00 pm – 6:00 pm
 Location: RCTC – Heintz Center Rm H2303

WEEK 5 – July 5 – July 7, 2023
No Zoom 

Required Final Knowledge and Skills Test (in-person): Fri, 7/7 – 9:00 am
Knowledge Exam: 9:00am - 11:00am – Location: Room H1411 – All Students
Individual Skill Exams: Starting at 11:00am until each student has completed – Location: Rm H2303

Refund Policy - You must drop your course registration at least seven business days prior to the start date to receive a full refund. You will receive a full refund if Rochester Community and Technical College cancels your course. If you fail to appear, you or your company will be responsible for full payment regardless. 

Cancelation Policy - While we regret having to do so, it is sometimes necessary to cancel courses with insufficient enrollment. If your course is canceled, we will notify you and a refund will be processed. Please include your permanent cell and work numbers as well as an e-mail address at the time of registration.

Required Drug Reference: Each student is required to bring a drug reference for the course.  These can be purchased or borrowed and should be no older than 5-7 years old.  Here are some suggestions for drug references from our course subject matter experts: 

Age Req:
Must be 18 years of age or older.
Su, M, Tu, W, Th, F, Sa 
12:00 AM
Contact Hours:
Diane Andersen Sibley
Crystal Rudlong
Sara Gordon-Dowd
Registration Cutoff Date:
Dates & Times:
6/5/2023   12:00AM - 11:59PM
6/6/2023   12:00AM - 11:59PM
6/7/2023   12:00AM - 11:59PM
6/8/2023   12:00AM - 11:59PM
6/9/2023   12:00AM - 11:59PM
6/10/2023   12:00AM - 11:59PM
6/11/2023   12:00AM - 11:59PM
6/12/2023   12:00AM - 11:59PM
6/13/2023   12:00AM - 11:59PM
6/14/2023   12:00AM - 11:59PM